Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

To Workset or To Not Workset?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    To Workset or To Not Workset?

    I'm the only one here. I generally have no need to enable work sharing but a post by Aaron M the other day got me to thinking that maybe enabling worksets is a safer way to work on a project regardless. It seems to me that if I am working on a local file that goes bonkers I need only use the central to create a new local and get right back to where I was when I last did a STC. If I'm working on a stand alone project and it goes bonkers I guess I could restore from backup but as I've never had to do that I don't know what the process is or if I could get back all of my work up to the last save.

    thoughts?
    I'm retired, if you don't like it, go around!

    #2
    You can get all of you work up to the last save, by opening the file adjacent to your current file that is named Myproject.0018.rvt, or whatever the one with the highest number is.

    Having said that, even when im alone, i Workset. Its just... better. All around. Saves faster, lets me demand load and demand unload sets of objects, has no real investment other than having to use DFC when i move the file. I just cant find a downside to it.
    Aaron "selfish AND petulant" Maller |P A R A L L A X T E A M | Practice Technology Implementation
    @Web | @Twitter | @LinkedIn | @Email

    Comment


      #3
      Originally posted by Twiceroadsfool View Post
      You can get all of you work up to the last save, by opening the file adjacent to your current file that is named Myproject.0018.rvt, or whatever the one with the highest number is.

      Having said that, even when im alone, i Workset. Its just... better. All around. Saves faster, lets me demand load and demand unload sets of objects, has no real investment other than having to use DFC when i move the file. I just cant find a downside to it.
      that's basically what I got out of your other post. Thanks for the input Aaron!
      I'm retired, if you don't like it, go around!

      Comment


        #4
        Another advantage is that you can render and work at the same time on the same project even when working solo with a single machine.

        Here's how it goes down: you open up two sessions of Revit. Change your username in the second. With Worksets on you can now open the same project in both sessions of Revit. Render in one while you work in the other.

        This is great for when I'm working on something like a permit set, for now I can just be detailing or annotating / tagging stuff while the nice views are rendering in a 2nd session. With a nice strong computer you barely notice the slowdown!
        Jeffrey McGrew
        Architect & Founder
        Because We Can, a Design-Build Studio
        Check out our new sister company Model No. making sustainable 3D printed furniture!

        Comment


          #5
          I agree with everyone that even on solo work work sets can reduce model overhead, provide one more level of display control/flexibility and generally speed up work. With the new functionality in 2012 that allows you to 'flatten' a workshared file, basically changing it back to a stand alone project, there is no downside IMHO.

          Comment


            #6
            Accidently i activated workset, how to turn off? ;/

            Comment


              #7
              The workset can,t be removed once it enabled. Better practice is keep a copy of a file before enabling worksharing.
              Yogesh

              Comment


                #8
                Allright, sounds pretty SHTUPID that i cant turn off but anyway, how can i make that other user could change everything and would save etc, same as without workset?

                Comment


                  #9
                  Originally posted by bangobeat View Post
                  Allright, sounds pretty SHTUPID that i cant turn off but anyway, how can i make that other user could change everything and would save etc, same as without workset?
                  Well it can actually be removed now if you are on Revit 2012. When you open the project make sure that you click on "Detach from Central" and you will be given some options to "Flatten" your project.
                  Phillip Miller
                  Kiwi Codes Solutions Ltd
                  Makers of "Family Browser" and "Project Browser" for Revit.

                  Comment


                    #10
                    If i will have revit2012, can my colleague work with revit2011 on project saved in 2012?

                    Comment

                    Related Topics

                    Collapse

                    Working...
                    X