Creating cellular beams where the holes align with one another

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Creating cellular beams where the holes align with one another

Alright guys, I'm new to this Revit malarkey and I'm getting to grips with it slowly. However, I'm struggling to work out how I'm supposed to put this next piece of this building I'm modelling together.

Basically I have a big floor plate but I have restrictive floor heights which means that the primary beams that I'm using need penetrations in the webs. Obviously I'd like these penetrations to line up so that the M+E chaps can fly their equipment through in straight lines. However, the way the the floor plan sits the beams are different lengths so I can't just copy and paste them along the building. Is there a way I can create cellular beams in revit and then specify where I want the penetrations in the web?

I've attached a screenshot of the old CAD files I'm using to model my building, you can see on the 'south' side of the drawing where the columns step out from gridline A. All beams marked 'Wxx' are to be cellular beams, typically they will be cut down from 914x305UBs to be 650mm overall depth with 500mm penetrations. Beams marked 'Bxx' are regular UBs.

Any advice would be greatly received.

Cheers,

Nick
    Attached Files

Welcome to the forum, Nick.

Revit Structure includes a beam family named as "Cellular beam.rfa", which contains parameters to control de number of holes, and the distance from the start of the beam to the start of the array of holes. You could create different types of this beam if it is necessary, and then use Sections or Elevation views to coordinate the location of these holes.
    Freelance BIM Provider at Autodesk Services Marketplace | Linkedin

Comment

Nick,

RST 2012 came with a OOTB celluar W shape. It looks like you are 2012 so you can find the framing family here