Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Structural Firm Switching to Revit help!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Structural Firm Switching to Revit help!

So, not even sure if this is the best place for this, but I think it fits so I'll post it anyway.

First let me point out that Revit is not exactly huge where I live right now. It is slowly getting there but ACAD is still (by majority) the program of choice. I graduated from college with an architectural drafting degree last summer and throughout school we were taught a little bit about how to use revit in anticipation for when it becomes the program of choice. Many larger architectural firms are using revit right now, and simply exporting to ACAD to send to our structural office.

My big question is this; I was hired at this company for the sole purpose of the company having someone who was well versed in using Revit once the time comes that Revit takes over. I didn't think it would be a huge issue, but it has been for me. It has made me have to deal with a huge amount of stress with creating templates and writing documents and making families for the company. I got through those initial stages fairly easily enough, the problem now is that every time we get a Revit project in the door, I am forced to do it in revit as well as doing it in ACAD at the same time. My boss says we're doing this because it will give him an idea of the capabilities of the program.

Now it's no lie that the reason I'm staying with this company is because once Revit takes of locally, being the only person in the office trained to use it, will have its advantages at that time. I'll have say in things.

What I really need to know is what everyone thinks is the easiest way for a structural engineering firm to start using revit.