Stud array on beam issues

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Stud array on beam issues

I have a two part question here. I am trying to modify the wide flange beam family to add an array for studs on top of the beam. The array parameter itself works, but I ran accross a couple issues:

1) I found out that adding a ref plane above the top of beam (for the top of stud) pushes the top of beam down in the project. This is despite the properties of the other reference planes not changing (defines origin, top, etc). If there is just geometry and no ref plane or parameters for top of stud, then this doesn't happen. It also doesn't happen if I turn the studs off in the family via yes/no parameter. How can I prevent this from happening? See attached image.
    beamfamily.jpg

2) I'm new to shared parameters and nesting families. I want to be able to adjust the stud sizes within the project. I created shared parameters (tried both instance and type) for the height and diameter of the stud, and made that stud family shared. I loaded it into the beam family and then into my project. I can select the stud itself but the properties for the size parameters are greyed out in the properties. Am I going about this the wrong way?

Not sure about the first question. It seems it's taking it's height, not from the RP, but from the extents of the geometry. I guess that makes sense, but maybe we can figure a workaround.

For the parameter question, you are halfway there. First, create parameters in the child family. Nest it, then create a new set of parameters in the parent family to drive the child parameters. Then, you'll be able to drive the child parameters in the project environment.

Can you post both families so we can play around with it? There's got to be a way to keep the top of beam from lowering when you add the studs.
    Last edited by dzatto; July 25, 2012, 06:13 PM.
    Dan

Comment