color are still rendering gray

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

color are still rendering gray

i am new to revit mep 2011, 2012 and have set up the filters to have piping appear in color in the realistic view option. I am just making some isometrics and just wanted piping to be colored not the mechanical equipment. My problem is when i render the view all the pipes revert to a gray color and can not get pipes to render in color. I have seen other rendered views with colored pipes. I did not use the options under 2012 because it changes the color of the mechanical equipment which i did not want. Is there some rendering parameter that uses the filtered view setup for rendering the view??

You need to assign a material if you're going to render.
    If you just want shaded than you can use Object styles, Model Categories for edges or Filters with a solid pattern.
    "Keeping my view range hopeful"

Comment

And you cannot do that with a Filter, since Filters to not act at the Material level. I dont recall if pipes are Material by Type or instance, but yeah... Youll have to apply materials to them seperately.
      Aaron "selfish AND petulant" Maller |P A R A L L A X T E A M | Practice Technology Implementation
      @Web | @Twitter | @LinkedIn | @Email

Comment

Now in 2012 you can assign a material to pipe by instance (system). Previous to 2012 is wasn't by type it was by category. If we wanted to render we had to paint the pipe, and it was by face (quadrants) and fittings had mutiple faces. It wasn't efficient in the least bit.

Comment

It is also important to remember that you can't render across phases; meaning that everything within the scene must be in the same phase. I have encountered this problem before and everything from a previous phase will be grey.
          Last edited by jmussett; December 9, 2011, 09:20 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by jmussett View Post