Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Using Revit MEP - Making projects more efficient

Hi,

I am a HVAC engineer who had the chance to work on multiple big projects with a team with Revit MEP. I am more of a project manager than a end user of the program. I have a very general question about the program, and would love hearing from the experts.

I have noticed the advantages of Revit MEP versus 2D CAD in terms of limiting the coordination mistakes and can see the potential of the program.

On the other hand, I have yet to notice how Revit can help us be more efficient (save time) on the design side. From the experience I have, Revit seems to increase the design time versus our projects in CAD.

I am curious on your opinions about this issue. Is it the case everywhere?

And, what are the Tools and tricks designers are implementing to use Revit MEP at their advantage and make project designing more efficient?

I'm not MEP. But I work with those who are - and should like to be the first to respond before the tricks and tips come flooding in...

Using Revit, for what's it's designed for (to enable the benefits you have already observed with improved coordination) is the pay off for the project. Any perceived loss - or lack in gain - of efficiency from using Revit is something you/we (may) have to bear in the process.

The question, as I pose it to MEP people who I do work with, is this: Are you in this for the project or the money? I've found the answer is usually a clear indicator of how engaged that consultant will be. But that is not to say you/we both are not then well placed to protect our businesses by contesting that the value (to the project) generated by completing the work in Revit should be reflected in our respective fees.

Otherwise, like you infer, what is the point in doing it in Revit? But trust me, in moment a few will come along with their tricks and tips to speed things up for you no end...

Oh and BTW, welcome to the forum! :thumbsup: