Naming Views

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Naming Views

Can anyone share how they name their views.

I've only just started putting my views onto our sheets and it was at this point I realised that the view names appear below the view on the sheet.

I have no naming standard for my views so under each view on the sheet is now a piece of text describing the view but doesn't look professional.

I work in the M&E field so maybe an M&E guy could tell me how they name their sections, plans, elevation views.

If not maybe an general Revit guy can explain their naming standards to help out.

Thanks

Domsib

Revit MEP - 1 Day at a time...

Originally posted by domsib View Post
    Can anyone share how they name their views.

I've only just started putting my views onto our sheets and it was at this point I realised that the view names appear below the view on the sheet.

I have no naming standard for my views so under each view on the sheet is now a piece of text describing the view but doesn't look professional.

I work in the M&E field so maybe an M&E guy could tell me how they name their sections, plans, elevation views.

If not maybe an general Revit guy can explain their naming standards to help out.

Thanks
    In the Properties of each view there is a place to input your own "Title On Sheet;" It's listed under Identity Data. The View Name is what Revit automatically gives to your views, but you may change the name here so that they make more sense to you.

I'm in Structural. We typically let Revit name the views as it wants. Once we place the views on the sheets, we may go back in and edit the name of the view to be (sheet)-(detail #) but then also use the "Title on Sheet" to give a more, as you say, "professional" title.

For instance, my view that Revit automatically named as Section 71, once placed on sheet SF601 in placeholder A1; I have renamed the view SF601-A1 and have also edited the Title on Sheet to be "Section at Roof Edge"

HTH.