turning model text into a void

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

turning model text into a void

Hello. I am just learning revit, and i was wondering if there is a way to turn model text into a void so that it can cut through solid model geometry. (I have a nameplate and i want the text to be laser cut into it, rather than placed on the surface of the plate).

Thanks!

Originally posted by czesia View Post
    Hello. I am just learning revit, and i was wondering if there is a way to turn model text into a void so that it can cut through solid model geometry. (I have a nameplate and i want the text to be laser cut into it, rather than placed on the surface of the plate).

Thanks!
    use the text as a background to create the voids from, dump the text, and use the voids to cut the model
    I'm retired, if you don't like it, go around!

Comment

There might be other ways, but I would do this:

Type a text with a true type font in AutoCAD. Using Express tools, explode the text into lines. Do some cleanup, removing some lines that the tool creates between the parts of some letters. Then save this dwg.

In Revit, in the family editor, in a face based family, do Home > Void Extrusion > Import CAD > bring in your dwg text into the sketch. You might need to do some trimming to fix some joins between the lines. Then specify the depth and finish the sketch. Now, add a solid extrusion for the plate. Then do Cut Geometry > select the plate, select the void text. Load into project.
      Attached Files
      Freelance BIM Provider at Autodesk Services Marketplace | Linkedin

Comment

Please Vote for the 3 Best Posts of the Month of March 2011

create your model text as you would normally and set the plane so the text is embedded on the face of the wall or system family that you want to engrave the text on.
        Use your join geometry tool on the wall and the model text - This makes revit cutout the model text from the wall.