Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Nested Door Family - Header Help

Hi Guys,

I'm getting the hang of creating nested parts for the doors. I built them in generic family then hosted them in Parent door family. I like it. Still need to create more panels ect. Still need to the windows too.

Now I have 3 questions:

1 - I would like to add the structural headers in the parent family. So I don't have to add it every time I add a door somewhere on the plan. I tried to have the width follow the width of the door, but whenever I change the size of the door, it breaks the constraints. I can't figure out why.

2 - I also can't have the header move up / down when changing the height of the door. I tried to input a formula, but it didn't work. I typed in Door Unit Height + HeaderHeight into the header type, it just says inconsistent units. I've never used the formula before so I'm still new to this part.

3 - I would reorganize the order and/or move into different group paramenter in the Family Types in the family then reupload it into the project file, it doesn't update the properties browser, any reason why? I even delete the door off the project and tried again, same thing. Do I need to start all over again creating a new parent family and make sure I put it in right the first time?

I attached the door family for you to look at.

Many Thanks.
    Attached Files

Be aware of how visibility graphics are handled with something like this - Because the elements are shared their visibility will be controlled under generic models, not doors, which will likely be confusing if others are using your doors.

<Family Type> Parameters can't be fed length parameters. The formula needs to be in the "HeaderHeight" parameter =Door Unit Height + DoorJambWidth