Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Losing objects when I bind a Revit link in my template

Hello,

I got a Revit model from the constructor and I am placing that model in our template.
    When I bind the model, I get 90 errors and some objects disappear.

What can I do to prevent this from happening?

Thanks for your help!

I am not an expert on this, but I am betting there is some problem with the way Revit handles both "project" and "template" files. For instance you cannot transfer views from a template. The template must be in project form before views can be transferred.
    Is there a particular reason you are trying to bind a model into a template? Normally you would create a project from your template then bind project to project.
    -Alex Cunningham

Comment

Hello Alex,

I create a new project from my template.
      Then I use "Link Revit" to link the model from the constructor.
      When I only link the model I can't work with it so I have to bind it.
      When I bind the revit link then I got a lot of errors and families disappear.
      What am I doing wrong?

When I just open the Revit project from the constructor everything is ok!

Comment

Could you just open the file from the constructor and "save as" ?

Then select all and Copy/Paste into your "template approved new project"? ( instead of link/bind ).

Or perhaps use Transfer Project Standards as well?

How large a file is it? Maybe you do not have enough RAM to "bind" it into your project?
        Last edited by cliff collins; November 1, 2011, 04:20 PM.
        Cliff B. Collins
        Registered Architect
        The Lamar Johnson Collaborative Architects, St. Louis, MO
        Autodesk Expert Elite

Comment

Hello Cliff,

When I copy/paste the project into the "new template approved new project" I got less errors but some families still disappear.

The file from the constructor is 20MB so this can't be the problem for my computer.