Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Parameter Formula Help

Hello!

I've been pulling my hair out trying to figure out a visibility parameter formula based on inputted value to create a parametric family and was wondering if anyone can help me with this because this is my first time attempting with conditional statements in Revit. I'm attempting to recreate a parametric scale bar family I found on Youtube so that my team can simply choose whichever scale they need from a preset list. In my family, I created 2 different scale bars which fit 1"=1'-0" and another that fits 1-1/2"=1'-0" which are named Scale 1 and Scale 2 respectively. I have 2 different value parameters set correctly for both of the scales. The trouble I am having is the visibility. I want only one scale bar to show at a time and also have the option to be manually completely turned off when needed. I have set 3 "yes/no" parameters, Scale 1, Scale 2, and Scale Visible. I figured out the conditional part, but having trouble with the <true>,<false> input values. I tried writing out the scenario below which worked for Scale 1, but when I try repeat it with slight modification for Scale 2, I get the error message "There is a circular chain of references among the formulas."

Formula written out on what I want it to do:
    Scale 1 : IF scale is visible AND value 1 > value 2 THEN scale 1 is visible AND scale 2 is NOT. IF FALSE THEN scale 1 is NOT visible AND scale 2 is.
    Scale 2 : IF scale is visible AND value 2 > value 1 THEN scale 2 is visible AND scale 1 is NOT. IF FALSE THEN scale 2 is NOT visible AND scale 1 is.

The formula I have written:
    Scale 1 : if(and(Scale Visible,Value 1 > Value 2), not(Scale 2), Scale Visible)
    Scale 2 : if(and(Scale Visible,Value 2 > Value 1), not(Scale 1), Scale Visible) *ERROR MESSAGE "There is a circular chain of references among the formulas."