Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Room Computation Warning

Hey guys-

I'm an architect in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and I'm new to Revit and the Forum (as in, I just finished Revit in-office training last week). I find this resource incredible. Thanks to all, in advance. I searched the forum, but didn't see a reply to this problem I'm having:

I am dropping ceilings into a pretty basic (albeit large: 500,000SF over 3 floors) model, and its returning a warning that "room computations only succeeded without considering the following elements." and highlights the floor plate. While it says "this problem can be ignored", it removes the sketch ceiling tool from my UI. The problem only persists in the 2nd floor RCP view. Any advice?

Thanks again (for both this thread but also the entire database). Look forward to chatting with you.
    GMB

Once upon a time the Revit help menu listed error warnings and what they meant...not all of them, but quite a few. I cannot find that in the wikihelp. If I had to guess I would suggest making sure that the area you trying to drop a ceiling in is properly bound...all walls and floor are room bounding. Usually errors when trying to drop in a ceiling are due to the area not being properly enclosed. Sometimes you will find that you just have to sketch the ceiling boundary.

Comment

Thanks for the wiki advice. I'm searching that now...
      Regarding the model/sketch command, the warning pop-up results in those commands (auto ceiling and sketch ceiling) becoming gray/inactive. Thus the puzzle.

Thanks
      GMB

Comment

So I have found some more clues:
        The elements that are highlighted as culprits of the warning dialog are members of linked revit models for shell and structure (one in each). That said, when I turn those models off, the problem still persists.

I did search the help data base, but that warning doesn't appear to be one that is covered.

Thanks, if this helps.
        GMB

Comment