Revit the right software?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Revit the right software?

I hope someone can give me some more information here. I am an AutoCAD and AutoCAD Map user although I don't use it every day. Someone at the board cutting company I spoke to said I should use AutoCAD Architecture to create cutting lists but it doesn't appear as if that is the right software. I then found a reference to Revit to create cutting lists but now I am not so sure either.

I want to be able to create some cutting lists for some wardrobes. The companies that I have looked at who do this for you are useless. They don't listen, give terrible advice, mainly in aid of making more money off me, and most don't come back with a quote. I now know quite a bit about this and have designed them myself as far as I can.

I could manually create these lists, I think. But that might introduce problems and mistakes since I am not experienced. I don't really want to sit and learn new software for endless hours either. I did use some 'free' software, which was actually quite easy to use but if I want a cutting list I will need to pay quite a bit. I will do that if need be but I also have a budget here and it will use up quite a lot of money.

What I want to know is, can I design them in Revit and get the exact measurements, even if it's manually (auto would be cool though) of each piece? They are mainly rectangular pieces but the draws have cutout and are a little complicated; the rails need a clearance and normally I think software would automatically change the width of the draw panel to the right size. Is this all possible in Revit?

I haven't a clue what I am looking at here - structure family, structure project, architecture family and project etc. Is it worth me figuring this out?

Originally posted by GPSJane View Post