Groups and Phasing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Groups and Phasing

I have multiple identical existing apartment units drawn as a group, and every unit will be receiving the same demolition and renovations. For example demolishing a wall and door in a bathroom, and putting in a new door and wall, shower, fixtures, etc. If I try to demolish the door and place the new door while editing the group, I get all kinds of errors.

Do I need to make a separate group for the renovation work? Where do the demolished items exist, in the overall group for the existing apartment interior? I'm new to renovation work with groups.

As you're no doubt aware, phasing is instance-based for elements - and Revit's groups don't care for capturing the phase-status of elements within them as a repetitious condition - so you can have a two instances of a group, where one has stuff demolished, and the other does not.

From a working perspective, there's pros and cons to the way Groups work. In your scenario now, where the demo-work is repetitious, it would be really nice if Group functionality expanded to offer user-choices like "keep group instances always the same" (and vice versa) - but sadly that's not the case at this time.

Ultimately, Groups are but workflow enablers (I really like them) - but in their present implementation actually trip many up, moreso with their fussy-phasing behaviour. I don't think you should consider a new group entirely (as persistency of elements is preferred in almost all cases) - as you will only need to demolish EVERYTHING in your originals - and again, that would involve the sub-selection of all group elements to demolish them, (select all in view comes in handy here to speed things up a little - as would a custom SP set to NOT instance-by-group that you could apply to elements to isolate them)