• Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is there a way to import

Hello...
    First, I'm new in using revit architecture and I have a set of queries
    Is there a way to import 3d objects from 3dmax to revit

Welcome to the forums!

I believe you can export objects out of 3ds Max as SAT files, and then import them into Revit as SAT files. You could also try using DWG for export/import.

However, they will just be "dumb" objects. If you do want to use objects from Max, it is commonly suggested that you import them into a Revit family and then load the family into your project rather than directly importing them into your project.

But the best course of action may depend on why your importing the objects.

Comment

Thanks brother iru69
      But I have no program 3dmax Is there a tool or a small program to convert?

But the best course of action may depend on why your importing the objects.
      I want to use objects 3dmax library because I think revit small as there is a lot of objects 3dmax free and beautiful sites on the net
      Last edited by saifalbergo; January 8, 2011, 09:48 AM.

Comment

A lot of the sites with 3ds max files sometimes offer the same model in another format such as obj, sat and dwg. I would suggest finding some in sat or dwg format.
        There also seems to be some information here on how to convert the files. I just skimmed through the posts but it seemed like there is some free software to convert files.

hope this helps
        Juan Carlos Moreno
        Store Designer & Merchandising Manager
        Sisley Cosmetics

Comment

Originally posted by saifalbergo View Post
          .....I want to use objects 3dmax library because I think revit small as there is a lot of objects 3dmax free and beautiful sites on the net
          IMHO the best advice would be: Don´t do it It´s tempting to try that, and believe me, I wasted way to much time trying to do excactly that when I started out with Revit.