Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Room Tags in a Large, Referenced Project

Hi,

I'm quite new to Revit and I've been tasked to put together a code compliance schedule (room areas and occupant loads) for a large project which has been modeled in 3 individual building files and referenced together in 1 site model. Is this something I should do individually per building file or is this something I should do in the combined file? It seems better to do this in the individual files so that the room numbers appear in the original files for personal reference sake, but it seems that the room tags don't get referenced with the building files into the site file. It would make sense though, too, to create the tags in the site file so that the room numbers remain unique among the different buildings.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Check this out:

http://www.saubim.com/

Also, I believe that in RAC 2012 you can tag Rooms across Linked files.
    Last edited by cliff collins; August 2, 2011, 02:37 PM.
    Cliff B. Collins
    Registered Architect
    The Lamar Johnson Collaborative Architects, St. Louis, MO
    Autodesk Expert Elite

Comment

Thanks, but I don't have the opportunity to purchase software. I've found a way to get the schedule to calculate what I need, I'm just looking for the best way to go about the room tags (what problems arise when tagging in original files vs. problems when tagging in a referenced file).

Thanks.

Comment

FWIW---The software is only $20.....................

but I understand what you are asking.

The answer is, there is no perfect answer!

You have to just get into the project and try tagging across links, scheduling across links, and see how it goes.
        The old learn by doing method actually is one of the best.

good luck.
        Cliff B. Collins
        Registered Architect
        Autodesk Expert Elite

Comment