Automatic Wall Resizing Help Needed!!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Automatic Wall Resizing Help Needed!!!!

Hey all, I can't find any information on this anywhere and I feel like it must be a super simple process that I can't figure out.

I'm a teacher who currently teaches AutoCAD and Inventor and am switching one course over to Revit. For their first project, they are replicating a house they created earlier in the year. However, none of their dimensions are working out because of Revit's need to constantly resize every wall and snap it to fit it's desires. It's like arguing with a drunk person, no matter how hard I try, I'm not getting anywhere.

I've been locking dimensions in and pinning walls, and the lot. I'm getting through it, but it's painfully frustrating for a high school student and they're getting very frustrated when they draw a wall to 11' and come back after drawing 2 walls and the wall is now 10'9".

Is there a way to prevent this? Is there a way to turn this off?

Welcome to the forum!

Its hard to say whats going on, without having more information... But it sounds like something you or the students are doing is making a join occur, and that is changing the length of the original wall. This can happen, for instance, if:

1. You draw a wall 11 feet long
    2. You draw a perpendicular wall, at one end of the 11' wall, and your Location Line is set to Wall Centerline.
    3. The original wall will now appear longer than 11'.

In either case, you want to get to the root of whats happening, or just put a dimension on it and move it back. You dont want to be locking dimensions and pinning objects, to combat that problem, or you are going to end up with a much bigger headache than you have now.
    Aaron "selfish AND petulant" Maller |P A R A L L A X T E A M | Practice Technology Implementation
    @Web | @Twitter | @LinkedIn | @Email

Comment