Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Deleting a detail view also deletes deletes detail groups in other detail views

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    Deleting a detail view also deletes deletes detail groups in other detail views

    I have a weird problem - it's probable I've tied myself in knots somewhere.

    What has happened is this:
    1. I made some detail views from a plan view.
    2. I did a bunch of linework detailing in these, including grouping some linework details.
    3. Requirements changed somewhat and these detail views needed to be referenced from a different plan view. To do this I copied the callouts from the first view to the new one (aligned to same place), then copied the detailing over to the new detail views that were created when the callouts were copied. So far so good, this all works fine, though it would be nice to have a way to simply change what plan view hosts a particular callout.
    4. When I delete the now obsolete detail views detail groups (and I think much other detailing) are also deleted from the new detail views. Ungrouping does not help. Deleting detail groups before deleting the details does not help.

    How could I have done this better? Is there any way to fix this?

    #2
    I would not use "Groups" for detailing. Use detail items. If you can take the time to group them, you have time to build it the correct way.

    But one would think Ungrouping would break the connection.
    Michael "MP" Patrick (Deceased - R.I.P)

    Comment

    Related Topics

    Collapse

    Working...
    X