Area plans used for all floor plans?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Area plans used for all floor plans?

Recently I've changed jobs from single-family to multifamily. The company is relatively new at using Revit and I'm new to working on larger projects. I am starting to take on the BIM manager role.

Because of the custom way they/we do areas, they do not want to use Room Tags w/ areas. They like their plans to show the area for the unit and do not like to use Room tags at all. They think because Revit is calculating the areas/volumes that it will slow the model down when you have hundreds of rooms. Another reason for not using rooms is because they do not want to see Room Separation lines all over.

I don't think it's a good idea, I don't like seeing all plans as area plans, but I'm not entirely sure how to respond... Do you guys have any brilliant thoughts or ideas? Thanks.

We do large multi story multi family. We use rooms for rooms, and we place rooms in every room. There aren't room boundary lines everywhere. We use area plans for FAR, FHA, and gross building calculations. They serve entirely different purposes. Using area plans as floor plans..... yuck.
    Aaron "selfish AND petulant" Maller |P A R A L L A X T E A M | Practice Technology Implementation
    @Web | @Twitter | @LinkedIn | @Email

Comment

There are several posts on combining units to report the way you are looking for them to behave. I don't have links offhand but if you search for it they should pop up.
      Revit for newbies - A starting point for RFO

chad
      BEER: Better, Efficient, Elegant, Repeatable.

Comment

Originally posted by joeyd View Post
        They think because Revit is calculating the areas/volumes that it will slow the model down when you have hundreds of rooms.