Design Options

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Design Options

I have a situation that I think is perfect for design options. But, since I've never used them before, I wanted some advice.

Basically, I'm trying to model a "typical" building that we produce 90% of the time. Within this building, we have 2 different layouts. It's a small change. I can either have a kids play area, or a manager's office. I've already designed it so the main walls will not change. All I do is add a few walls, a door, a desk, and the required MEP.

I'm also thinking of doing it for the structural floor since I have front load and rear load.

It sounds like this is perfect for design options. But, will it allow me to make one primary and still keep the secondary (without deleting it), so I can change it in the future? And can I have different options for different parts of the building?

One more question: Will design options allow me to annotate the option? That way, when I make it primary it's already dimensioned and ready to go? What about MEP, sections, etc. etc.?
    Last edited by dzatto; May 2, 2011, 04:00 PM.
    Dan

Design Options indeed allow you to keep the secondary option. There's no need to delete them, other then maybe preventing people from accidently modelling in the wrond DO.
    As for the different options for different parts of the building: you need to use option sets for this. The playground/manager's office is one option set. The front load vs rear load is another option set.
    Martijn de Riet
    Professional Revit Consultant | Revit API Developer
    MdR Advies
    Planta1 Revit Online Consulting

Comment

Cool, and what about dimensions and annotation? Can that also be part of a design set, or just the modeled geometry?
      Dan

Comment

Just the geometry, but you make different views that see the different options, and you can annotate the different views. So you can keep them both.