Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Nightmare Roof Design - (for a beginner)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Nightmare Roof Design - (for a beginner)

Hello Forum Members,

I am new to the Revit scene and am working on my first Revit project. So far I have successfully built a model in Revit of the project that I am working on, but have hit a HUGE stumbling block :banghead: I am trying to draw an existing roof design of a building that is going to be converted into flats.

The roof design has 3 levels. The main pitch on the right hand side is set at a higher point (5500mm). The flat roof is lower (4700mm) and the lower roof pitch at the rear is set at 3500. The roof angle will have a rough pitch of 39Deg.

How would I go about drawing this? Initially I tried to make one roof using pick walls and trying to adjust the roof that gets automatically generated, no luck with this. I have tried to split the roof into various components and drawing them individually, have just got confused doing this.

I would appreciate if anyone could show me the light.

Thank you in advance :whiskey:

Revit Noob

Sorry for using a jpeg just quickly took a snap on my phone of the plans I have to hand.
    Attached Files

You will need to create 2 roof elements to get this roof. One for the rectangle shaped larger portion that appears to be higher, and an "L" shaped lower roof section. when positioned close to one another they will give the over all roof shape you are looking for. Here is a quick example i modeled based off the image you posted.

example_roof.png

I am also attaching the RVT file so you can have a look at what I did.
    Attached Files
    Jeff Hanson
    Sr. Subject Matter Expert
    Autodesk, Revit - User Experience

Comment

Thanks JeffH

Had a look at the example that you made. Thank you for doing this, it was easy to understand and see where to split the shape of the roof.