Varying Slope Hipped Roof

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Varying Slope Hipped Roof

Hi, I'm new to this forum . . .couldn't find an answer to this anywhere on here so I'm hoping someone can help. I do residential design and I currently have two homes I'm working on that I'm fighting the same problem on with the roof. I've tried several different ways to get these to work and sometimes I can get it to work and sometimes I can't, but I just feel like there's got to be something I'm missing and don't know! I'm mostly self taught in Revit, so I'm wondering if I'm making this harder than it has to be?

With the first house, it has a little slope change at the bottom. I would just do this as roof by extrusion, but it's hipped. I'll look for a picture of what I'm trying to do . . .

Ok, I'd never heard of this before, but it would be like the Bonnet Roof pictured here.

I need to be able to do this with one pitch on the front and back and another on the sides. Anyone have any ideas? Or need more information? The house I'm referring to is obviously more complicated than this, but the main section of the house is pretty straight-forward.

First, welcome to RFo!

Second, there's no picture attached to your thread.

Third, if I'm picturing the roof correctly in my head, you will probably need to do this with 2 separate roofs. Check out THIS pdf. It's a good resource for creating a roof in Revit. Check out the bonnet roof on page 11, that's what I'm talking about when I say use 2 roofs.

As for the different pitches for the front and back, just sketch the roof. Then pick the sketch lines and check "defines slope" in the options bar. Then, in the properties, input what pitch you want each side to have.
    dzatto
    "OMG I killed Revit"
    Last edited by dzatto; September 11, 2012, 11:11 PM.
    Dan

Comment