Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Published C4R model can sync back to the cloud

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    Published C4R model can sync back to the cloud

    We've run into an issue today that we consider to be major and unintended. Published models that are downloaded and opened will sync any changes back to the C4R model, if the user has access to the project. The person will even appear in the communicator dialog as being in the model. Changes can be synced back and forth, at least in models without other files linked into it. It may work with files with links when Revit thinks that all the links are the most up-to-date version.

    It happens when:
    • The file (no links) is opened through the open dialog [Detach from central could be checked, but isn't default or forced]
    • The file (no links) is opened by double clicking on a model within an extracted folder

    It doesn't happen when:
    • The file (with links) is opened through the open dialog [forces Detach from central]
    • The file (with links) is opened by double clicking on a model within a zip folder [tries to sync, sync fails]
    • The file (with links) is opened by double clicking on a model within an extracted folder [tries to sync, sync fails]
    • When the user is signed out of Autodesk [doesn't appear to have C4R licence, Revit keeps asking for a sign in and locks the program]
    • When the user isn't part of the project [sync fails]

    Not Tested:
    • Published model with all links up-to-date


    This is a huge problem, as we pull down published models as archives at milestones, and use them if we need to investigate something in a consultant's model so we don't affect the "live" model. There should never be a risk that however anyone handles a published model it will sync back to the central model.

    Revit version: 2017.2
    Attached Files
    Julie Kidder
    Architect + BIM Director
    Hartman + Majewski Design Group

Related Topics

Collapse

Working...
X