Worksharing WAN solution

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Worksharing WAN solution

I'm a student entering into an academic project using revit 2013, there's a group of 6 of us.

We've tested Worksharing across DropBox, but the performance is weak, and tests with just 2 people have proven that the likelihood of conflicted copies and file sync errors will be very high. I've thought about setting up some sort of Hamanchi server, or using FTP but don't know if this would work?

I've read the wiki about Revit Server. I have some experience setting up web hosting, but don't know what kind of server I would need to purchase in order to run a Revit Server. I assume I would need a windows server. Would this be expensive, or is it something I could set up for $20/month?

Are there any relatively simple solutions? There's a greater emphasis on reducing the likelihood of sync errors and conflicting copies, rather than on speed and performance.
    ag25
    Last edited by ag25; January 16, 2013, 03:06 AM.

I've tested exposing a Revit Server to the public internet and connecting via disjointed networks to share a project. It works and the speed is decent since you're not actually throwing full project files around (after initial local creation, of course).

The recommended specifications for a server running Revit Server are a little overblown for your needs. However, to do this you may need a co-located system or a VPS solution... running Windows Server, obviously. I doubt you'll get away with $20/mo for this.