Thoughts on new Revit/Max system

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Thoughts on new Revit/Max system

Here's the specs of a new system I'm looking at putting together.
    I have looked at most of the other posts here, and what I've picked seems to be OK. But I would just like one of you experts to have a quick look to make sure that there isn't something glaringly obvious that I've missed, or would be better changed.
    Attached Files

i'm no expert but i'd definately be getting more ram. Also the available sizes of new HDD's these days scares me...1TB of data is a lot to lose if it goes bang! i typically set up my desktop systems to have 2 separate drives, one for the OS/program installations & the other for data, makes data backups quicker & easier too.
    elton williams
    Forum Addict
    Last edited by elton williams; October 26, 2011, 12:05 PM.
    There are no stupid questions, only stupid people

Comment

Originally posted by elton williams View Post
      i'm no expert but i'd definately be getting more ram.
      Thanks Elton.
      I have been using only 4GB ram for ages, without too much of a problem. The file-sizes I work with in Revit rarely get over 50MB. But I have only been on XP 32. So should I go to 16GB...?

Comment

50mb files aren't really big but ram is relatively cheap nowadays if your budget allows and revit 2012 has upped the ante again. I only use max occassionally (even then it's mostly revit fbx's) so can't really comment there. If you're upgrading to win7 it'll definately help, escpecially if you leave aero themes and all the gizmo's on - i don't, i try and run minimal windows services as it's a hog at the best of times.

Comment

Originally posted by elton williams View Post