Revit laptop for student

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Revit laptop for student

Hi there, I'm an architecture student and I need a new laptop (currently 3rd year) that will last me till the end of graduation -3.5 -4 more years. My work will be with Revit, 3ds max, Photoshop, Corel and a decent amount of final hi quality project renderings etc. My budget is around $1600 so I've narrowed my choices to these models:

HP EliteBook 8560w(XU083UT) - i7 2630, 8GB, AMD 5950M, FullHD, no dreamcolor , 3 years warranty + Win 7 Pro
    or
    XPS 15 - i7 2630, 8GB, nVidia 540M, FullHD FullGamut screen, 4 years warranty + win 7 Home Premium

So the main questions I have are:
    1. Is it worth it buying the expensive 8560w when the XPS has the same performance levels (not sure about the cooling in max CPU usage though)?
    2. Should I search for bigger 17" models or these 15" with external 24"monitor at home will be just about perfect? The weight is not such a big problem but the form factor is what bothers me. Anyway the most use case would be on a desk.
    3. There are cheaper options for the Intel 2520 and 2620 processors for the EliteBook. If I take one of those would it be sufficient for rendering large models like hotels, big public buildings and so on after 2-3 years because right now our projects are no bigger than a midsized bus terminals?
    4. Is the display scaling on 15.6" fullHD screen going to stretch all the icons of the programs (revit, cad) in an ugly manner? I hate displays that are not sharp.
    5. Any other proposals different form Mac and Sony?

I am looking at 8560w also, and between slow speed quad core (2630) and faster dual cores (2540, 2620) I would go for a faster dual core, since Revit mostly uses one or two cores, except for rendering.