mid-priced (~$1500) laptop options

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

mid-priced (~$1500) laptop options

I need to get a new laptop to run Revit/Acad 2012 while I learn Revit this fall. I typically work at home with a docked laptop displaying Outlook and a larger docked monitor above the laptop displaying everything else. I am relatively sure I want a laptop, not a desktop, so I can take it with me when I need to work elsewhere and/or go on "vacation". I'm currently a self-employed architect (little to no work) so I am trying to keep the cost around $1500 or less. I would like to have Win7 Professional so I can run XP and use some of my older programs for now, like Acad LT, since the Revit version I'll use will be a student version. I have primarily been considering 15" (15.6") sized since I was avoiding the size/weight of 17" units although I could reconsider that possibility (also won't fit under my upper/main monitor as well).

Here are the main options I am considering and current prices/configurations. Any input / opinions are very appreciated. Thank you in advance.

1. Lenovo ThinkPad W520, $1319 thru Lenovo
    i7-2720QM, 2.2Ghz, 6Mb cache CPU
    4Mb RAM at 1333Mhz in 1 DIMM, 4 DIMM total (I would immediately add 2x4Gb for 12 Gb total for ~ $50)
    Quadro 1000M, DDR3, says 2 Gb, or is it really only 1Gb? (Quadro 2000M is + $250, still DDR3)
    500 Gb @ 7200 rpm hard drive
    Win7 Professional (64 bit)
    1600 x 900 anti-glare display (I think this is a good in-between resolution for email)
    basic DVD reader/writer
    Note 1: I'm on my second ThinkPad and have been very happy with them, build-quality and keyboard especially.
    Note 2: The Quadro 1000M is not on Autodesk's 'certified' GPU list; does this mean no Autodesk drivers?

2. Lenovo IdeaPad Y570, +/- $1000 depending on exact config.
    i7-2630QM (2.0 GHz), 6Mb cache
    8MB RAM (2 DIMM total), this is the max RAM on the unit
    GeForce GT 555M, 1 Gb (DDR3/GDDR5)