Pc hardware questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Pc hardware questions

Hey guys.. i am trying to build up a pc for large models on Revit...(about 500mb files)
    I am not really good at picking the right hardware, but after asking around i have this list..
    I have not idea what kind of Grafik card would i need... Any advice? or even suggestions if i choose anything
    that is not needed!

ASUS TUF Z270 MARK 2

Intel Core i7-7700K 4 core (Quad Core) CPU with 4.2 GHz
    G.Skill Ripjaws V 32GB DDR4 K2 3200 C16 32GVK
    Samsung SSD 850 EVO (Basic) Series 500GB
    &
    WD Blue Desktop WD10EZEX 1TB
    Corsair RMi Series RM1000i PFC 80+ Gold modular 1000 Watt
    Corsair Hydro H115i Extreme Performance CPU-Kühler

Thanks guys!
    Goodmorning

Depends on your use and wallet.
    If it's everyday modelling creating drawings and such, then just get a nvidea gtx card (the faster the better).
    AFAIK the only place one would realistically benefit from using a Quadro is workflows outside of Revit.

If you are doing renderings and using plugins/3rd party programs regularly that can utilize more cores on the cpu I would go for a Xeon processor instead.

Comment

And, unless you plan to overclock CPU, there is no need for water cooling.

Comment

I would consider something similar to this

• Case: Silverstone TJ08B-E (14.72"H x 8.27"W x 15.16"D) (other good options exist)
        • CPU: Intel i7-7700k 4 core/8 thread 4ghz boost to 4.5ghz Kaby Lake
        • Motherboard: Asus z270g ROG STRIX (WIFI/BT4.1) matx (if atx is needed let me know)
        • RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V 32GB 2400mhz (2x8GB), (you can go with faster ram though gains are small)
        • Video Card: EVGA GTX1060 6GB (or higher depending on budget, RAM capacity is really the deciding factor today)
        • CPU Cooler: Noctua u12s 120mm air cooler (or Phanteks PH-tc12dx - pictured below. Cooler master hyper212evo if tight budget)