Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Looking for a "budget" laptop for Revit 2012 (&AutoCAD 2012 rendering)?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Looking for a "budget" laptop for Revit 2012 (&AutoCAD 2012 rendering)?

Hello -

I'm a student looking for a laptop that can handle Revit 2012 (as well as AutoCAD 2011/12 -- specifically higher resolution rendering). One that I can get the most capability to fit my $1,000 budget. I last worked on a 3D model in AutoCAD on my Vostro 1510, that must have been too much . . . it would eventually just freeze. -- It seems Revit (that I will be starting a class in) requires even more.
    I'm having a hard time understanding what all the technical info is, but I noticed that one of your moderators okay'd a nVidia GeForce graphics card, but I noticed that Autodesk only recommends nVidia Quadro for Revit. Does it actually matter?
    Laptop advice -- with specific models especially -- would be appreciated!
    Thx!

Don´t worry too much about the graphics card not being on the "recommended" list by Autodesk - Just means that Autodesk have not tested that card, while there´s great chances that the card will be fine anyway. As you noted, the nVidia GeForce cards, in general, works pretty well with Revit. On the other hand, AutoCad would benefit from the Quadro cards...

Not sure what to recommend within a budget of 1K (Your pricing would be very different from mine) but HP laptops have been great for me. More specificly the HP Mobile Workstations (8710W), but I´d guess those are out of the price range...
    Klaus Munkholm
    "Do. Or do not. There is no try."

Comment

Laptop for Revit/AutoCAD

Thanks for replying -

Did I understand you to say that AutoCAD works better with the nVidia Quadro graphics card? If so, then I should probably look for only this (?).

Also, would the announcemnt (today) that HP will not be making PC's have any bearing if you were contemplating buying a new HP latptop today?