HP HPE h8xt-1070t desktop computer "review"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HP HPE h8xt-1070t desktop computer "review"

I thought someone who's looking to purchase a new workstation for Revit might benefit from my most recent purchasing experience.

Our office needed a new workstation, and for various reasons, I've kind of had it with Dell, so after a ten year hiatus, I decided to go back to HP. While I’m an experienced system builder, I’ve refrained from rolling my own for our office since I’m an architect first, and the firm’s IT guy second, and when I'm busy with architecture, I can't be taking time out to mess around with a broken computer. I always get the 3-year on-site service warranty.

I ordered the HP Elite h8xt configured with the following:
    i7-2600 (3.4GHz)
    8 GB RAM
    1GB Radeon HD 6450 (to be replaced - see below)
    600w PSU
    1.5 TB HDD (free upgrade from 750 GB)
    Blu-ray drive (free upgrade)
    Windows 7 x64

I ordered separately an Intel 510 120GB SSD and a MSI Nvidia GeForce 560 Ti video card from newegg.

The HP Elite is a "consumer" oriented desktop, generally available through HP's Home/Home Office channel. Large firms that need to order through HP's Business channel are probably out of luck - I don't believe this computer is available outside the Home/Home Office channel.

I ordered it with the entry video card, but upgraded to the 600w PSU because I knew I wanted to replace the video card with my own selection (frankly, the 460w PSU option would have been more than adequate). I could have gotten an Nvidia GF 550 Ti with the stock system, and in retrospect, I should have stuck with that if for no other reason than to see if I could discern any difference between the 550 Ti and 560 Ti. Surprising, an SSD isn’t offered as a configuration choice.