From Excel to Revit Drafting view

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

From Excel to Revit Drafting view

Hello guys. I hope you can help. I am still learning Basics in Dynamo and Tasks in my Company are getting tougher and tougher.

I have some data in Excel from People outside of my Company. That list gets updated from time to time. It contains some text Information that i want to Show on my Sheet. Intention is that I do not need to owertype this info every time.

My idea was to link this Excel file to drafting view in Revit where it would be written just by ordinary text command under Annotation tab. Is it possible? If not, do you guys have any other idea or a way to make this automatic??

Thanks a lot!!!

UPDATE: Maybe writing it on a Legend is better idea??
    Last edited by disperadun; December 15, 2016, 08:02 AM.

I would suggest you either make the text a shared Sheet parameter which is shown in your title blocks. Or as a parameter in a detail item, which shows whatever text is filled in (Which you place either in a drafting view or on the sheet itself).
    Then it is really easy to get either all the sheets or all the detail items in the project. Filter for the ones that correspond to the excel text (By sheet number?). Read the text from excel then write into the parameter.

Hope that helps you get started
    "One must imagine Sisyphus happy." Albert Camus - "The innovator has for enemies all those who have done well under the old conditions, and lukewarm defenders in those who may ​do well under the new." Nicolo Machiavelli -"Things that are too complex are not useful, Things that are useful are simple." Mikhail Kalashnikov

Comment

Seems doable
      2016-12-15_16-34-23.png

Comment

Seems doable
        2016-12-15_16-34-23.png

Comment

Yes. But surely using a family with parameters that you can schedule is more manageable than just text boxes?