Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: My favorite thing about Revit (not... caution rant)

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    August 9, 2011
    Posts
    63
    Current Local Time
    01:53 PM

    Thumbs down My favorite thing about Revit (not... caution rant)

    Ok Revit programmers... what the hell were you thinking when you give the warning "Revit is upgrading the project you are opening" or whatever it says ... and NOT giving the option to cancel??

    I am simultaneously working on a 2010 and 2011 project and the 2010 project CANNOT be upgraded per client request. When I accidentally open it with 2011, or in this case, try to steal some views for the new 2011 project, I have to use the task manager to KILL the Revit app.

    Geez guys.. this is probably the dumbest Revit quirk out of all the dumb Revit quirks. I'm going to make detached copy of the 2010 project, upgrade THAT copy and steal from it. But sheesh.

    /rant

  2. #2
    Moderator
    "RFO 2012 Spelling Bee Champion"
    Alex Cunningham's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 8, 2010
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    3,547
    Current Local Time
    01:53 PM
    You can open it and not save...

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    August 9, 2011
    Posts
    63
    Current Local Time
    01:53 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by Alex Cunningham View Post
    You can open it and not save...
    lol .. really? That warning is pretty intimidating. But you're saying it's just upgrading the local copy and NOT the central file? Even when I'm inserting views?

  4. #4
    Moderator
    "RFO 2012 Spelling Bee Champion"
    Alex Cunningham's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 8, 2010
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    3,547
    Current Local Time
    01:53 PM
    Yes, even when inserting views. Nothing gets saved to the central file untill you sync with Central.

    PLEASE Correct me if I am wrong.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    August 9, 2011
    Posts
    63
    Current Local Time
    01:53 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by Alex Cunningham View Post
    Yes, even when inserting views. Nothing gets saved to the central file untill you sync with Central.

    PLEASE Correct me if I am wrong.
    I guess that makes sense... but I'm gonna stick with the workaround of detaching a copy and using THAT rather than "correcting you if you're wrong". Lol.. I like all parts of my butt and don't want any of it chewed off today!

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Forum Co-Founder Alfredo Medina's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Orlando, FL, USA | info@planta1.com
    Posts
    2,788
    Current Local Time
    04:53 PM
    No need to panic. Revit temporarily upgrades the file in order to show it, but the file is not actually formatted to the newer version yet unless you intentionally save the file. You can notice that by opening a file from an older version several times in a newer version, and closing the file without saving; the message will display every time you open the file, which means that the file is still usable for the lower version. Now, if you save, that's another story.

  7. #7
    Moderator
    "RFO 2012 Spelling Bee Champion"
    Alex Cunningham's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 8, 2010
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    3,547
    Current Local Time
    01:53 PM
    Thanks Alfredo for confirming.

  8. #8
    Member jsnyder's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Location
    AUGI Refugee
    Posts
    277
    Current Local Time
    01:53 PM
    There is a cancel button that appears during the upgrade down by the status bar in the lower left corner of the screen. I know this because I have used it many times. It actually works too if you can get to it - it seems to dissappear at some later point during the upgrade process though.

    It would be nice if it asked you before starting the process, however.

  9. #9
    Moderator
    "Mark Twain"
    mdradvies's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 16, 2010
    Location
    Boxtel, Netherlands
    Posts
    4,553
    Current Local Time
    08:53 PM
    You can either NOT save or Save As (only if you're not worksharing).
    The cancel button is present, left side of the status bar beneath your screen. Even worth clicking where it's supposed to be if it's not showing.. That will often cancel the load too.

  10. #10
    Autodesk Scott D Davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 5, 2011
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    611
    Current Local Time
    01:53 PM
    And if you DO "accidently" save in a non-workset project....go immediately to the most recent backup and use that file. It will still be in the previous version format. In a workset project, if you get the "upgrading" message upon opening, just do NOT sync with Central. Close the file, don't save, relinqush all...then open the right Revit version and start again.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Jason Grant: One thing in SketchUp that is not in #Revit
    By Jason Grant Blog in forum Blog Feeds
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 21st, 2011, 11:05 AM
  2. Caution: Design Options in Linked Files, Revit 2012. (Take 2)
    By Twiceroadsfool in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: July 18th, 2011, 05:56 PM
  3. HP rant
    By mdradvies in forum Out There
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: March 29th, 2011, 03:48 AM
  4. What are your 3 favorite smileys?
    By Alfredo Medina in forum Out There
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: January 18th, 2011, 12:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •