Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Plugins on the network?

  1. #1
    Administrator Gordon Price's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Rotterdam, South Holland
    Posts
    3,076
    Current Local Time
    02:28 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Plugins on the network?

    I am looking at automating plug-in install, and as with so many things, what I as an IT person want to do is put the plug-in on the network and have everyone share it. But what the readme always says is install locally. Just wondering if anyone has played around with network resourced dlls like this. Is there a limit on the number of users who can access? Or does each user just load the dll to local RAM anyway, and there is no reason not to do this?

    Any real world experience is greatly appreciated.

    Thanks!
    Gordon

  2. #2
    Administrator Gordon Price's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Rotterdam, South Holland
    Posts
    3,076
    Current Local Time
    02:28 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    And perhaps even more urgent, has anyone gotten the ADNPlugin-RoomRenumbering plugin to work in 2012 at all? Even doing the entire install manually I get an error when I try to run. Given that it is an ADN freebee I expect no support out of Autodesk, so hopefully someone here can at least verify they have it running so I can start looking for what I am doing wrong.

    Thanks!
    Gordon

  3. #3
    Member joseguia's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 8, 2011
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    102
    Current Local Time
    07:28 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Rod Howarth put up some code to help with this :

    http://blog.rodhowarth.com/2011/05/r...ins-to-be.html

  4. #4
    Administrator Gordon Price's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Rotterdam, South Holland
    Posts
    3,076
    Current Local Time
    02:28 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Jose, thanks for that. I may look at adding that to my install script.

    On a related note, it turns out that what was causing my addin to fail even when installed locally was some fun new security in Windows 7. Scott Sheppard & Kean Walmsley hooked me up with the good info.

    Per Kean: "Many of the 2012 family of products use version 4 of the .NET Framework. .NET 4.0 implements slightly more stringent security than prior versions of the framework: if a DLL is suspected as having been downloaded from the web as is clearly the case with our Plugins of the Month the .NET 4.0 runtime will treat that DLL as if it has been loaded from a network share. And as many of you have found out, from trying to load DLLs from network shares, this results in a reduced set of privileges on the local machine, which can often result in a load error such as this one:

    Code:
    Cannot load assembly. Error details: System.IO.FileLoadException: Could not load file or assembly...
    The solution is straightforward: you simply need to Unblock the DLL by right-clicking on it in Explorer and selecting Properties and Unblock. Its actually better to do this for the .ZIP prior to extracting the contents, as this makes sure all files contained in the archive are unblocked."

    I followed this procedure on my copies of the files on the network, and now when I install locally everything works as expected. With Jose's info I should then be able to get it to work with only the manifest file getting copied, which is nice because updating to a new version of the dll just means coying it once to the network, no need to copy to each machine.

    Sweet!

    Gordon
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Unblock DLL.png 
Views:	1001 
Size:	45.0 KB 
ID:	2105  

  5. #5
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,251
    Current Local Time
    07:28 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Ive got a few plugins for 2012 that wont initialize at all unless Revit is right click> Run as Administrator'ed.

    Sigh....

    Although to ask an IT newb question, whats the benny of having the actual DLL's on the network? If you abandoned xml and are heading back to a VBS solution, why not just copy everything locally with the VBS? The .addin files are now in a local User directory anyway, so you cant avoid it (i dont think?).

  6. #6
    Administrator Gordon Price's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Rotterdam, South Holland
    Posts
    3,076
    Current Local Time
    02:28 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Aaron,
    I would try the unblock trick on those dlls, and the addin manifests too. I didn't try to Run Revit with elevated privaledges, but I think it might have worked.

    As for networked dlls, when everyone is just running the one dll off the network, if the addin gets an update I just drop the new version of the dll in place, and everyone has the newest stuff, I get . Otherwise I have to go to each machine and run an install script. Not the end of the world eaither way, and I don't even know that many addins get an update all that often. But Kiwicodes sure does a good job, so maybe updating dlls will be a real task to consider automating.

    Gordon

  7. #7
    Moderator
    "RFO 2012 Spelling Bee Champion"
    Alex Cunningham's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 8, 2010
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    3,576
    Current Local Time
    05:28 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Running as local admin wont work in some companies policies. That sucks.

Similar Threads

  1. Revit 2012 Switching from Trial to Network License
    By sdbrownaia in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: June 10th, 2011, 04:29 PM
  2. Playstation Network Users
    By dzatto in forum Out There
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: April 28th, 2011, 08:10 PM
  3. Network latencies
    By Gordon Price in forum Hardware and Infrastructure
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 25th, 2011, 04:20 PM
  4. 2012 we can no longer switch from standalone licence to network?
    By sander.obdeijn in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: April 14th, 2011, 01:18 PM
  5. useful add-ons & plugins
    By cogan in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: April 12th, 2011, 08:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •