Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Precision T1700 Specs

  1.    #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    August 4, 2015
    Posts
    2
    Current Local Time
    10:20 AM

    Precision T1700 Specs

    Our architectural company has recently moved onto Revit and plans on upgrading the machines to suit. Are the below specs suitable for small office, domestic-scale Revit work? (Budget = 1500e, Coming in at 1250e). Much appreciated, thank you.

    Precision T1700 Small Form Factor

    Intel« Xeon« Processor E3-1271 v3 (Quad Core HT, 3.60GHz Turbo,8MB
    Nvidia Quadro K620 2GB Half Height (DP, DL-DVI-I) (1 DP to SL-DVI adapter)
    16GB (2x8GB) 1600MHz DDR3 Non-ECC
    C3 mSATA + 2.5inch SATA 1 Hard Drive, 32GB 2.5inch Mini-Card Serial ATA Solid State Drive
    Last edited by davidmahon; August 4th, 2015 at 02:42 PM.

  2.    #2
    Forum Co-Founder iru69's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,450
    Current Local Time
    02:20 AM
    Hi David - welcome to RFO!

    Looks like a good start. The K620 is pretty low-end... what's the next step up available? e.g. K2200 would be decent.

    Get a full-sized SSD, e.g. ~250GB. 32GB won't cut it... that's basically acting like a cache, which is better than nothing, but that's not saying much. You probably don't need the HDD if you're working off a file server.

    16GB RAM is probably just fine, but what type and size of projects do you work on?

  3.    #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    August 4, 2015
    Posts
    2
    Current Local Time
    10:20 AM
    Thanks for the welcome and for getting back so promptly. Ok I've added 256GB (Adata DP900 SSD 2.5 inch SATA 6Gb/s, 1M Hrs MTBF) for an extra 150e. I'm not exactly sure how it benefits a work station on a server but it seems to be recommended. The projects we work on are small to middle scale (typically below 5000 sq. ft.). Appreciated.
    Last edited by davidmahon; August 4th, 2015 at 08:25 PM.

  4.    #4
    Forum Co-Founder iru69's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,450
    Current Local Time
    02:20 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by davidmahon View Post
    I'm not exactly sure how it benefits a work station on a server but it seems to be recommended.
    It kind of sounds like you've never really used one? It's a HUGE benefit to overall system performance. I wouldn't recommend a computer without one.


  5.    #5
    The Moderator with No Imagination MPwuzhere's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Location
    Coeur d Alene, ID
    Posts
    3,337
    Current Local Time
    02:20 AM
    Hopefully the 32GB SSD was a typo.....as Win 7 by itself is close to 40GB....even a 120GB drive won't work once you have one version of BDS installed...

Similar Threads

  1. Anybody Using E-Specs?
    By renogreen in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 23rd, 2014, 12:21 PM
  2. I need help and fast on system specs
    By DoTheBIM in forum Hardware and Infrastructure
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: February 11th, 2013, 07:56 PM
  3. New Laptop Specs!
    By Reeves3 in forum Hardware and Infrastructure
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: September 13th, 2012, 04:42 PM
  4. Computer specs and Revit 2011
    By Gumpole in forum Hardware and Infrastructure
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: March 3rd, 2011, 11:14 AM
  5. Specs for Revit 2011
    By winn in forum Hardware and Infrastructure
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: January 12th, 2011, 06:11 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •