Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Unloading a link...cannot be undone...

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    December 21, 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3
    Current Local Time
    10:00 AM

    Unloading a link...cannot be undone...

    Unloading a link cannot be undone. Do you want to continue?

    A little background. I am working in my file and want to open one of the consultant files. How should I open the file. Do I need to close out of Revit or just unload the link. To prevent closing out of the current file, I can save time by unloading the link, however, when I do Revit tells me, "Unloading a link cannot be undone. Do you want to continue?"

    Am I going about this all wrong. Is it neccesary to close the file I am working in first, or can I unload the revit link?

  2. #2
    Moderator
    "OMG I killed Revit"
    dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,986
    Current Local Time
    09:00 AM
    Yep. It's a pain in the arse, but I always just close out the current file.

    I think you can just open another version of Revit, but I haven't tested that yet. I'm not sure what will happen if you make changes and save it while it's linked in another session.

  3. #3
    Moderator cellophane's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 9, 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    3,259
    Current Local Time
    10:00 AM
    You can also open a new instance of Revit and open it there with no problems. There was another thread where this came up and Aaron had a fancy solution. Give me a few minutes and I'll find it for you.

    Should I split this site up?
    Last edited by cellophane; January 25th, 2012 at 04:51 PM.

  4. #4
    Forum Co-Founder Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,756
    Current Local Time
    09:00 AM
    Its a stupid warning that basically means nothing. Its not REMOVING the Link, its simply unloading it. Big deal. Go back in to Manage Links after the fact and hit Reload. No worries.

    If both are workshared, you can open locals of both files concurrently in one session.
    Otherwise, itll unload it and you can reload.
    Or, open it in another session of Revit. Bear in mind youll still need to Reload it in the original sessions, since SWC doesnt reload links.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    December 21, 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3
    Current Local Time
    10:00 AM
    Thanks all...great advice

  6. #6
    Moderator cellophane's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 9, 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    3,259
    Current Local Time
    10:00 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by Twiceroadsfool View Post
    Its a stupid warning that basically means nothing. Its not REMOVING the Link, its simply unloading it. Big deal. Go back in to Manage Links after the fact and hit Reload. No worries.
    For some reason it never occured to me that it was unloading, not removing. I always opened a 2nd instance of Revit.

  7. #7
    Moderator DaveP's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 10, 2011
    Location
    St Paul, MN
    Posts
    1,122
    Current Local Time
    09:00 AM
    Late to the game, but - yeah - what Aaron said.
    The message is poorly worded. It does NOT mean that you can never Reload your Link again.
    What it really should say is:
    "Unloading a Link will flush your Undo history"
    You will not be able to use the Undo function to go back to Undo anything before you did the Unload.
    It doesn't completely break your Undo, either. It just resets it and starts over again from that point.

    Say you had done commands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8. At this point, you can undo 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1.
    If you didn't Undo or Unload, and just continued running more commands, you'd be doing 9, 10, 11, etc, which you could still Undo 11, 10, 9, 8, etc.
    However if after step 8 you did an Unload Link, your next command would start the Undo history all over again with 1.
    You could no longer undo 8, or anything before it.
    (Hope that didn't just make it more complicated!)
    But when you Unload a link

  8. #8
    Moderator
    "OMG I killed Revit"
    dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,986
    Current Local Time
    09:00 AM
    Just started unloading and reloading. Works great. Way way better than closing the project. Thanks guys!

Similar Threads

  1. Revit Link - Link model from RAC to RST
    By JasonWallis in forum Structure - Interoperability
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: April 9th, 2012, 11:35 AM
  2. DB Link
    By Drew in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: December 19th, 2011, 03:12 PM
  3. Link Civil .dwg into RST?
    By LeanneZ in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 9th, 2011, 05:21 PM
  4. Cad link
    By jbenoit44 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 7th, 2011, 06:19 PM
  5. ETABS Link
    By engr_mondo in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: January 9th, 2011, 10:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •